Activities

 

  • Information and Identification of research programmes (EU- and worldwide)

  • Research-Lobbying

 

 

  • Configuration MoU

  • Support of the main writer in the initiation of projects

  • Knowledge- and Technology Transfer

 

 

 

  • Call-specific funding advice

  • Alignment call text vs. project idea

 

 

  • Accompanying international delegations

  • Networking in international clusters

  • International research partner brokerage

 

International Networking

Building on its already existing EU-wide and global cooperation network, e.g. European North Sea Energy Alliance (ENSEA), German Development Agency (GIZ) both in South Africa and India, Sichuan University in China, La Serena University in Chile and others, EFZN has been a founding member of the Joint Program "Energy System Integration "(JP ESI) of the European Energy Research Alliance (EERA). It acts as umbrella organization, representing its member universities. By joining the EERA JP ESI and other international bodies, the EFZN is pursues the goal to raise the profile of Lower Saxony’s energy research and to act more effectively on the international scene.

We focus our strategy on the following topics:

1. Energy projects with partners from EERA JP ESI in the EU funding program Horizon 2020 and other EU programs

2. Energy projects in the North Sea area with partners from the ENSEA network

3. Energy projects with partner regions of Lower Saxony worldwide

The European Energy Research Alliance (EERA)

EERA is an alliance of European public research centres and universities. It is one of the cornerstones of the European Integrated Strategic Energy Technology Plan (SET-Plan).

EERA brings together around 250 research centres and universities across 30 countries. Actively working together in currently 16 joint research programmes (JPs), they build on national research initiatives and work on shared priorities and research projects.

EFZN is a founding member of the EERA Joint Programme in Energy Systems Integration (JP ESI). This Joint Programme in Energy Systems Integration seeks to bring together research strengths across Europe to optimally integrate our energy systems at all levels. It is fully aligned with the SET Plan Integrated Roadmap.

The European University Association (EUA)

The EUA represents more than 800 universities and national rectors’ conferences in 48 European countries. EUA works closely with members and partners active in energy and environment research, education and innovation. The Association’s goal is to facilitate the full participation of European universities in energy- and environment-related EU programmes and to support the realisation of the Energy Union and a sustainable energy future for Europe.

The Association conducts this work primarily through the European Platform of Universities in Energy Research & Education (EUA-EPUE) where it connects members and partners active in the field. These efforts are linked to EUA’s work in promoting the role of universities in achieving the UN Sustainable Development Goals, as well as the Association’s role in shaping EU research and innovation programmes.

European North Sea Energy Alliance (ENSEA)

The European North Sea Energy Alliance (ENSEA) developed a network that brought together energy know-how and aligned research programs through better coordination and exploitation of research. To achieve the European Union’s “20-20-20″ climate and energy goals as well as sustainable growth, the European energy system has to change rapidly to accommodate more renewable energy.

Because power output from renewables can be highly variable, successfully operating such a system needs a combination of more energy storage, flexible thermal generation, increased interconnection between neighbouring power networks and demand-side management. ENSEA proposed a holistic focus on the energy system generating innovative solutions to meet the challenges and market needs of a resource efficient Europe. Successful exploitation of these innovations provides new business opportunities and boosts the competitiveness of regions and the wider European economy.

ENSEA started on 1st of October 2012 and ended on 30th September 2015. The project was supported by the European Commission under the European FP7 programme Capacities with a funding of nearly three million euros under the “Regions of knowledge” programme. The main strands within this project are to promote cooperation between public, private and academic sectors and to facilitate the development of knowledge on energy system integration and demand management.

Preparing for a Long-Term Joint EU-AU Research and Innovation Partnership on Renewable Energy (PRE-LEAP-RE)

PRE-LEAP-RE is a Horizon 2020 project to establish a long-term renewable energy research and innovation partnership between the EU and the African Union. Therefore, an agenda / roadmap for renewable energy projects is being compiled. The agenda will be implemented from 2020 on. EERA, the European Energy Research Alliance, is partner in the PRE-LEAP-RE project. EFZN as a member of EERA Joint Programme Energy System Integration (JP ESI) coordinates the expert input for the definition of an agenda / roadmap throughout Europe.

Aktivitäten

 

  • Information und Identifikation von Forschungsprogrammen (EU- und Weltweit)

  • Themen-Lobbying

 

 

  • Ausgestaltung MoU

  • Unterstützung des Hauptschreibers in der Anbahnung von Projekten

  • Wissens- und Technologietransfer

 

  • Ausschreibungsspezifische Förderberatung

  • Abgleich Projektidee vs. Ausschreibung

 

 

  • Betreuung internationaler Delegationen

  • Netzwerkarbeit im internationalen Umfeld

  • Internationale Vermittlung von Forschungspartnern

Netzwerkarbeit im internationalen Umfeld

Aufbauend auf seinen bereits bestehenden EU-weiten und globalen Kooperationen und Netzwerken (z. B. ENSEA – European North Sea Energy Alliance, GIZ Südafrika und Indien, Chengdu in China, Chile) ist das EFZN seit Mai 2016 Gründungsmitglied des Joint Programme „Energy System Integration“ (JP ESI) der Europäischen Energy Research Alliance (EERA AISBL). Es fungiert hier als sogenannte „umbrella organisation“ und repräsentiert damit seine Mitgliedsuniversitäten. Mit der Mitgliedschaft beim EERA JP ESI und anderen internationalen Gremien verfolgt das EFZN das Ziel, die Sichtbarkeit der niedersächsischen Energieforschung zu erhöhen und international schlagkräftiger aufzutreten.

Unser strategischer Fokus liegt auf folgenden Themen:

1. Energieprojekte mit Partnern aus EERA JP ESI im EU-Förderprogramm Horizon 2020 und weiteren EU-Programmen

2. Energieprojekte im Nordseebereich mit Partnern aus dem ENSEA-Verbund

3. Energieprojekte mit Partnerregionen Niedersachsens weltweit

Die Europäische Energie-Forschungsallianz (EERA)

Die EERA ist eine Allianz aus öffentlichen Forschungsreinrichtungen und Universitäten. Es ist ein Pfeiler des Europäischen Integrierten Strategischen Energietechnologie-Plans (SET-Plan).

Die Europäische Energie-Forschungsallianz besteht aus rund 250 Forschungszentren und Universitäten, die über 30 Länder verteilt sind und in aktuell 16 Gemeinsamen Forschungsprogrammen (joint research programmes, JP) zusammen arbeiten.

Das EFZN ist Gründungsmitglied des EERA Joint Programme in Energy Systems Integration (JP ESI). Dieses Gemeinsame Programm zur Energiesystemintegration zielt darauf ab, die Stärken der Forschung in ganz Europa zusammenzubringen, um unsere Energiesysteme auf allen Ebenen optimal zu integrieren. Das Programm ist vollständig auf die Integrierte Roadmap des SET-Plans abgestimmt.

Der Verband der Europäischen Universitäten (EUA)

Der EUA vertritt mehr als 800 Universitäten und nationale Rektorenkonferenzen in 48 europäischen Ländern. Der EUA arbeitet eng mit Mitgliedern und Partnern zusammen, die in den Bereichen Energie- und Umweltforschung, Bildung und Innovation tätig sind. Das Ziel des Verbandes ist es, die Beteiligung der europäischen Universitäten an energie- und umweltbezogenen EU-Programmen zu erleichtern und die Verwirklichung der Energieunion und eine nachhaltige Energiezukunft für Europa zu unterstützen.

Der Verband führt diese Arbeit in erster Linie über die EUA-Plattform für Energie und Umwelt (EUA-EPUE) aus. Diese Aktivitäten stehen im Zusammenhang mit der Arbeit des EUA zur Erreichung der Ziele für Nachhaltige Entwicklung der Vereinten Nationen sowie bei der Gestaltung der Forschungs- und Innovationsprogramme der EU.

Die Europäische Nordsee-Energieallianz (ENSEA)

Um die Klima- und Energieziele der Europäischen Union "20-20-20" sowie ein nachhaltiges Wachstum zu erreichen, muss sich das europäische Energiesystem rasch zugunsten von Erneuerbaren Energien verändern. Aus diesem Grunde wurde die Europäische Nordsee-Energieallianz (ENSEA) gegründet. ENSEA ist ein Netzwerk von Nordseeanrainerstaaten, das Energie-Fachwissen über Systemintegration zusammenbringt und die Koordination von Forschungsprogrammen sowie die Verwertung von Forschungsergebnissen verbessert.

Da die Leistungsabgabe aus Erneuerbaren Energien sehr variabel sein kann, erfordert der erfolgreiche Betrieb eines solchen Systems eine Kombination aus mehr Energiespeicherung, flexibler Wärmeerzeugung, verbesserten Austausch zwischen benachbarten Stromnetzen und einer Nachfragesteuerung. ENSEA schlägt daher einen ganzheitlichen Fokus auf das Energiesystem vor und entwickelt innovative Lösungen für die Marktanforderungen eines ressourceneffizienten Europas. Die erfolgreiche Nutzung dieser Innovationen eröffnet neue Geschäftsmöglichkeiten und stärkt die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der Regionen in Europa und der europäischen Energiewirtschaft.

ENSEA begann am 1. Oktober 2012 und endete am 30. September 2015. Das Projekt wurde von der Europäischen Kommission im Rahmen des europäischen FP7-Programms Capacities mit fast drei Millionen Euro im Rahmen des Programms „Regions of Knowledge“ unterstützt. Hauptziele dieses Projekts waren der Austausch von Wissen über Energiesystemintegration, die Förderung der Zusammenarbeit zwischen bereits bestehenden regionalen Clustern aus Norddeutschland, Dänemark, Norwegen, Schottland und den Niederlanden sowie die Erarbeitung eines Gemeinsamen Aktionsplans (Joint Action Plan) für den Nordseeraum.

Forschungs- und Innovationspartnerschaft für Erneuerbare Energien zwischen der EU und der Afrikanischen Union (PRE-LEAP-RE)

PRE-LEAP-RE (Abkürzung für: Preparing for a Long-Term Joint EU-AU Research and Innovation Partnership on Renewable Energy) ist ein Horizon 2020 Projekt mit dem Ziel, eine langfristige Forschungs- und Innovationspartnerschaft für Erneuerbare Energien zwischen der EU und der Afrikanischen Union aufzubauen. Daher wird eine Agenda / Roadmap für Forschungsprojekte im Bereich der Erneuerbaren Energien erarbeitet.  Die Umsetzung der Agenda beginnt ab 2020. EERA, die Europäische Energie-Forschungs-Allianz, ist Partner im Projekt. Als Mitglied im EERA Joint Programme Energy System Integration (JP ESI) koordiniert das EFZN europaweit den fachlichen Input für die Definition einer Agenda/Roadmap.