With increasing regenerative energy production, electrical energy can be increasingly considered a primary energy source. In this way the desired substitution of fossil energy raw materials with regenerative processes that are run energetically with electricity (Power-to-X, P2X) can be achieved. The line of research “P2X Technologies” has the aim of further developing the range of the different technologies for conversion of electrical energy to other forms of energy and thus to develop an important foundation for the line of research “Integrated Energy Systems / Interlinking Sectors”.

Besides the direct storage of electrical energy in batteries, research in Lower Saxony in P2X technologies focuses on water electrolysis, the subsequent conversion of hydrogen to gaseous and liquid fuels or chemical raw materials, as well as the storage and reconversion of hydrogen to power. In this way a contribution is made to supply security through different storage technologies, and the raw material supply to the chemical and basic industry (steel cement) can be changed, step by step, to “green“ hydrogen from regenerative electrical energy and sustainable carbon sources. Important research problems concern the development of new materials as well as improved models and simulation tools in order to achieve the best possible effectiveness of the various conversion technologies.

Research infrastructure

The university locations provide scientists in this line of research with comprehensive research infrastructure.

More on the research infrastructure

Photo: © EFZN

Research Scientists

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jochen Aberle

Leichtweiß-Institut für Wasserbau, Abteilung Wasserbau, Braunschweig

Prof. Dr. Carsten Agert

Institut für Physik, DLR-Institut für Vernetzte Energiesysteme, Oldenburg

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Egbert Baake

Institut für Elektroprozesstechnik (ETP), Hannover

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Hans-Peter Beck

Institut für Elektrische Energietechnik und Energiesysteme (IEE), Clausthal

Prof. Dr. Friedrich Dinkelacker

Institut für Technische Verbrennung (ITV), Hannover

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Peter Eilts

Institut für Verbrennungskraftmaschinen (ivb), Braunschweig

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jens Friedrichs

Institut für Flugantriebe und Strömungsmaschinen (IFAS), Braunschweig

Prof. Dr. Leonhard Ganzer

Institut für Erdöl- und Erdgastechnik (ITE), Clausthal

Prof. Georg Garnweitner

Institut für Partikeltechnik (iPAT), Braunschweig

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Richard Hanke-Rauschenbach

Institut für Elektrische Energiesysteme (IfES), Hannover

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stephan Kabelac

Institut für Thermodynamik (IfT), Hannover

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jürgen Köhler

Institut für Thermodynamik (ift), Braunschweig

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Michael Kurrat

Institut für Hochspannungstechnik und Elektrische Energieanlagen (elenia), Braunschweig

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Arno Kwade

Institut für Partikeltechnik (iPAT), Braunschweig

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Hans Jürgen Maier

Institut für Werkstoffkunde (IW), Hannover

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Bernard Nacke

Institut für Elektroprozesstechnik (ETP), Hannover

Prof. Dr. Mehtap Oezaslan

Institut für Technische Chemie (ITC), Braunschweig

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Bernd Ponick

Institut für Antriebssysteme und Leistungselektronik (IAL), Hannover

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Rolf Radespiel

Institut für Strömungsmechanik (ISM), Braunschweig

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Wolfgang Schade

Institut für Energieforschung und Physikalische Technologien (IEPT), Clausthal

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Roland Scharf

Institut für Kraftwerkstechnik und Wärmeübertragung (IKW), Hannover

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stephan Scholl

Institut für Chemische und Thermische Verfahrenstechnik (ICTV), Braunschweig

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Uwe Schröder

Institut für Ökologische und Nachhaltige Chemie (IÖNC), Braunschweig

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jörg Seume

Institut für Turbomaschinen und Fluid-Dynamik (TFD), Hannover

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Turek

Institut für Chemische und Elektrochemische Verfahrenstechnik (ICVT), Clausthal

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jörg Wallaschek

Institut für Dynamik und Schwingungen (IDS), Hannover

Prof. Dr. Michael Wark

Institut für Chemie, Oldenburg

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Roman Weber

Institut für Energieverfahrenstechnik und Brennstofftechnik (IEVB), Clausthal

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gregor D. Wehinger

Institut für Chemische und Elektrochemische Verfahrenstechnik (ICVT), Clausthal

Prof. Dr. Gunther Wittstock

Institut für Chemie, Oldenburg