Lower Saxony does not only have great potential for the utilisation of wind energy, but as an extensive flatland it has the second highest potential of all federal states to utilise solar energy. With solar and wind energy being seasonally complementary, Lower Saxony can use significant amounts of renewable energy throughout the year if it consistently develops both technologies.

Solar energy

Solar energy can be used almost anywhere in small and large systems, is economically feasible for many applications already and is widely accepted by the population. For these reasons solar energy utilisation is expanding rapidly around the globe. Worldwide investments in solar energy production exceeded 100 billion dollars for the first time in 2017. This growing market also provides opportunities for companies from Lower Saxony; be it in the area of planning, erecting and operating solar energy systems, in manufacturing components to be used in solar energy systems or in mechanical engineering for production and inspection plants.

The area of solar energy within the line of research is covered by the Institute for Solar Energy Research (ISFH), an associated institute of the Leibniz University Hannover, and by researchers from the University of Technology Braunschweig, the Leibniz University Hannover as well as the Carl von Ossietzky University Oldenburg. Application-driven solar research is characterised by intensive cooperation with industry. Central problems of solar energy research concern not only the further development of components for cost-efficient supply of renewable energy, but also the integration of solar energy into our energy system to ensure secure supply.

Wind energy

Wind energy is one of the supporting pillars of our future energy system. The potential of generating electricity with wind energy plants on land and at sea is enormous. The interaction of wind energy systems that are becoming bigger and more efficient is very complex and only with the active support of these evolutions by solid research and development institutions can further significant progress in terms of cost reductions and reliability be achieved.

The area of wind energy within the line of research is covered by the Centre for Wind Energy Research – ForWind – that is jointly run by the Carl von Ossietzky University Oldenburg, the Leibniz University Hannover and the University Bremen. ForWind brings together scientific and technical expertise of about 30 institutes and groups from engineering and natural sciences as well as informatics and economic science. From the external conditions, such as turbulent winds, waves and currents, to plant technology, from rotors to the foundation, right up to the integration into the energy system – ForWind researches the complex correlation of all these areas in the wind energy system. Numerous cooperative projects with industry, as well as the organisation of qualification programmes, workshops and professional seminars allow a rapid and effective transfer of new insights and innovations.

Research infrastructure

The university locations provide scientists in this line of research with comprehensive research infrastructure.

More on the research infrastructure

Photo: © ISFH

Research Scientists

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Martin Achmus

Institut für Geotechnik (IGtH), Hannover

Prof. Dr. Carsten Agert

Institut für Physik, DLR-Institut für Vernetzte Energiesysteme, Oldenburg

Prof. Dr. Katharina Al-Shamery

Institut für Chemie, Oldenburg

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Rolf Brendel

Institut für Festkörperphysik (FKP), Hannover, Institut für Solarenergieforschung (ISFH), Hameln

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Bernd Engel

Institut für Hochspannungstechnik und Elektrische Energieanlagen (elenia), Braunschweig

Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Lutz Hofmann

Institut für Elektrische Energiesysteme (IfES), Hannover

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Oliver Kastner

Institut für Thermodynamik (IfT), Hannover

Prof. Dr. Martin Kühn

Institut für Physik, Oldenburg

Prof. Dr. Christoph Lienau

Institut für Physik, Oldenburg

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ludger Lohaus

Institut für Baustoffe (IfB), Hannover

Prof. Dr. Laura Lukassen

Institut für Physik, ForWind, Oldenburg

Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Karl-Heinz Lux

Institut für Aufbereitung, Deponietechnik und Geomechanik (IFAD), Clausthal

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Axel Mertens

Institut für Antriebsysteme und Leistungselektronik (IAL), Hannover

Prof. Dr. sc. nat. H. Jörg Osten

Institut für Materialien und Bauelemente der Elektronik (MBE), Hannover

Prof. Dr. Robby Peibst

Institut für Materialien und Bauelemente der Elektronik (MBE), Hannover, Institut für Solarenergieforschung (ISFH), Hameln

Prof. Dr. Joachim Peinke

Institut für Physik, Oldenburg

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gerhard Poll

Institut für Maschinenkonstruktion und Tribologie (IMKT), Hannover

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Bernd Ponick

Institut für Antriebssysteme und Leistungselektronik (IAL), Hannover

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Andreas Reuter

Institut für Windenergiesysteme (IWES), Hannover

Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Raimund Rolfes

Institut für Statik und Dynamik (ISD), Hannover

Prof. Dr. Sascha Schäfer

Institut für Physik, Oldenburg

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Peter Schaumann

Institut für Stahlbau, Hannover

Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Torsten Schlurmann

Ludwig-Franzius-Institut für Wasserbau, Ästuar- und Küsteningenieurwesen (FI), Hannover

Prof. Dr. Jan Schmidt

Institut für Festkörperphysik (FKP), Hannover, Institut für Solarenergieforschung (ISFH), Hameln

Prof. Dr. Gunther Seckmeyer

Institut für Meteorologie und Klimatologie (IMUK), Hannover

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jörg Wallaschek

Institut für Dynamik und Schwingungen (IDS), Hannover

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Peter Werle

Institut für Elektrische Energiesysteme (IfES), Hannover