26 professors as members and over 300 doctoral students and scientists of the Leibniz University Hannover (LUH) are joined together in the interdisciplinary “Leibniz Research Centre Energy 2050“(LiFE 2050) – the energy research node of the Leibniz University Hannover – whereby the Institute for Solar Energy Research (ISFH) as associated institute of the LUH is also incorporated. A board of directors with six members with one elected spokesperson coordinates the tasks. LiFE 2050 runs the office that supports the processes of acquiring joint projects, of interdisciplinary interlinking and of carrying out projects through services and tools. In addition, the office is responsible for the marketing of the research centre.


Prof. Dr.-Ing. Richard Hanke-Rauschenbach

Spokesperson EFZN Location Hannover

Email:Write message

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jörg Seume

Deputy Spokesperson EFZN Location Hannover

Email:Write message

Dr. -Ing. Volker Schöber

Coordinator EFZN Location Hannover

Email:Write message

Core topics

The objective of LiFE 2050 is to deliver research contributions for a sustainable, financeable and reliable energy system. This energy system must also be environmentally friendly and must reduce the emission of greenhouse gases. The focus will be on the transformation process from a system with large conventional energy production plants to a system with many small decentralised production plants on the basis of renewable energies. LiFE 2050 is based on high-performance research lines in the engineering and natural sciences area (see image alongside). These are complemented by cross-cutting topics of economics, law and environmental planning.




Research in wind energy addresses the complete wind energy plant and stretches from the establishment, the wave loads (offshore), the bearing structures and their materials to aeroelastics, rotor blades, gears, bearings and generators and to power-electronic energy conversion and integration into the power grid, as well as their economic feasibility and financing, with the research group receiving the area of FORWIND Hannover. The testing centre for bearing structures, the generator converter laboratory, the large wave channel and other large apparatuses provide an excellent infrastructure.

The focus areas of solar energy research are crystalline silicon photovoltaics, low-temperature solar thermal energy and the development of decentralised solar energy supply systems for electricity and heat. The interaction of solar and non-solar components such as storage and heat pumps is of particular importance. These topics are explored by ISFH together with institutes of electrical engineering, mechanical engineering and physics. The experimental plants of the ISFH as well as the LNQE (Laboratory for Nano and Quantum Engineering) provide comprehensive experimental opportunities for this area of research.

Research on thermal power plants with the main objectives of increasing flexibility and efficiency is carried out by the institutes for thermodynamics, technical combustion, turbomachinery, power plant systems, material science, dynamics and vibrations, electrical machinery and business informatics. A new research construction “Dynamics of energy conversion“ and the related large apparatuses were successfully acquired and will probably be put into operation in 2019.

The electrical supply grid is investigated by five disciplines of electrical engineering, complemented by economic sciences and environmental planning. The main research objective is to ensure the stability of the electricity grid in spite of the continuously growing share of renewable energies and decentralisation. The professorships for electricity grids, power electronics, electrical energy storage etc. contribute to this.

In electromobility research work is concentrated on the drivetrain (electrical and hybrid), including gear, on integration into the electricity grid and on car-sharing and urban logistics. These research activities are largely integrated into the NFF.

Research Scientists

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Martin Achmus

Institute of Geotechnical Engineering (IGtH)

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Egbert Baake

Institute of Electrotechnology (ETP)

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Michael Beer

Institute for Risk and Reliability (IRZ)

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Michael H. Breitner

Institute of Information Systems Research (IWI)

Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Rolf Brendel

Institute of Solid State Physics (FKP), Institute for Solar Energy Research in Hamelin (ISFH)

Prof. Dr. Friedrich Dinkelacker

Institute for Technical Combustion (ITV)

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Heyno Garbe

Institute of Electrical Engineering and Measurement Technology (GEM)

Prof. Dr. jur. Claas Friedrich Germelmann

Institute of International Law

Prof. Dr. Christina von Haaren

Institute of Environmental Planning (iup)

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Richard Hanke-Rauschenbach

Institute of Electric Power Systems (IfES)

Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Lutz Hofmann

Institute of Electric Power Systems (IfES)

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stephan Kabelac

Institute for Thermodynamics (IfT)

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ludger Lohaus

Institute of Building Materials Science (IfB)

Prof. Dr.-Ing Hans Jürgen Maier

Institute for Material Science (IW)

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Axel Mertens

Institute for Drive Systems and Power Electronics (IAL)

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Bernard Nacke

Institute of Electrotechnology (ETP)

Prof. Dr. sc. nat. H. Jörg Osten

Institute of Electronic Materials and Devices (MBE)

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jörn Ostermann

Institut für Informationsverarbeitung (TNT)

Prof. Dr. Robby Peibst

Institute of Electronic Materials and Devices (MBE), Institute for Solar Energy Research in Hamelin (ISFH)

Prof. Dr. Jürgen Peissig

Institute of Communications Technology (IKT)

Prof. Dr.-Ing Gerhard Poll

Institute for Machine Design and Tribology (IMKT)

Prof. Dr. Bernd Ponick

Institute for Drive Systems and Power Electronics (IAL)

Prof. Dr. Marcel Prokopczuk

Institute of Finance and Commodity Markets (FMT)

apl. Prof. Dr. Siegfried Raasch

Institute of Meteorology and Climatology (IMUK)

Prof. Dr.-Ing Andreas Reuter

Institute for Wind Energy Systems (IWES)

Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Raimund Rolfes

Institute of Structural Analysis (ISD)

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Roland Scharf

Institute for Power Plant Technology and Heat Transfer (IKW)

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Peter Schaumann

Institute for Steel Construction

Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Torsten Schlurmann

Ludwig-Franzius-Institute for Hydraulic, Estuarine and Coastal Engineering (LuFI)

Prof. Dr. Jan Schmidt

Institute of Solid State Physics (FKP), Institute for Solar Energy Research in Hamelin (ISFH)

Prof. Dr. Gunther Seckmeyer

Institute of Meteorology and Climatology (IMUK)

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jörg Seume

Institute of Turbomachinery and Fluid Dynamics (TFD)

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jörg Wallaschek

Institute of Dynamics and Vibration Research (IDS)

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Peter Werle

Institute of Electric Power Systems (IfES)