Wind energy is one of the supporting pillars of our future energy system. The potential of generating electricity with wind energy plants on land and at sea is enormous. The interaction of wind energy systems that are becoming bigger and more efficient is very complex and only with the active support of these evolutions by solid research and development institutions can further significant progress in terms of cost reductions and reliability be achieved.

The EFZN line of research wind energy is covered by the Center for Wind Energy Research – ForWind – that is jointly run by the Carl von Ossietzky University Oldenburg, the Leibniz University Hannover and the University Bremen.

ForWind concentrates wind energy research in the northwest and connects 30 institutes and working groups of the universities of Oldenburg, Hannover and Bremen. Thus, ForWind forms a nationwide unique research network and covers a broad spectrum of scientific topics. Research focuses on engineering sciences, physics and meteorology, computational science and economics.

Through application-oriented projects, ForWind transfers results from basic research to industry. In addition to the scientific support of industrially oriented projects, ForWind offers the first nationwide academic Continuing Studies Programme Wind Energy Technology and Management for professionals in the wind energy industry.

Research Scientists

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Martin Achmus

Institute of Geotechnical Engineering (IGtH), Hannover

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Michael H. Breitner

Institute of Information Systems Research (IWI), Hannover

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Heyno Garbe

Institute of Electrical Engineering and Measurement Technology (GEM), Hannover

Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Lutz Hofmann

Institute of Electric Power Systems (IfES), Hannover

Prof. Dr. Martin Kühn

Institute of Physics, Oldenburg

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ludger Lohaus

Institute of Building Materials Science (IfB), Hannover

Prof. Dr. Laura Lukassen

Institute of Physics, ForWind, Oldenburg

Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Karl-Heinz Lux

Institute of Mineral and Waste Processing, Waste Disposal and Geomechanics (IFAD), Clausthal

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Axel Mertens

Institute for Drive Systems and Power Electronics (IAL), Hannover

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Astrid Nieße

Department of Computing Science, Oldenburg

Prof. Dr. Joachim Peinke

Institute of Physics, Oldenburg

Prof. Dr. Jürgen Peissig

Institute of Communications Technology (IKT), Hannover

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gerhard Poll

Institute for Machine Design and Tribology (IMKT), Hannover

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Bernd Ponick

Institute for Drive Systems and Power Electronics (IAL), Hannover

apl. Prof. Dr. Siegfried Raasch

Institute of Meteorology and Climatology (IMUK), Hannover

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Andreas Reuter

Institute for Wind Energy Systems (IWES), Hannover

Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Raimund Rolfes

Institute of Structural Analysis (ISD), Hannover

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Peter Schaumann

Institute for Steel Construction, Hannover

Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Torsten Schlurmann

Ludwig-Franzius-Institute for Hydraulic, Estuarine and Coastal Engineering (LuFI), Hannover

Prof. Dr. Gunther Seckmeyer

Institute of Meteorology and Climatology (IMUK), Hannover

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jörg Seume

Institute of Turbomachinery and Fluid Dynamics (TFD), Hannover

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jörg Wallaschek

Institute of Dynamics and Vibration Research (IDS), Hannover

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Peter Werle

Institute of Electric Power Systems (IfES), Hannover