Lower Saxony as an extensive flatland has the second highest potential of all federal states to utilise solar energy. Solar energy can be used almost anywhere in small and large systems, is economically feasible for many applications already and is widely accepted by the population. For these reasons solar energy utilisation is expanding rapidly around the globe. Worldwide investments in solar energy production exceeded 100 billion dollars for the first time in 2017. This growing market also provides opportunities for companies from Lower Saxony; be it in the area of planning, erecting and operating solar energy systems, in manufacturing components to be used in solar energy systems or in mechanical engineering for production and inspection plants.

The EFZN line of research solar energy is covered by the Institute for Solar Energy Research (ISFH), an associated institute of the Leibniz University Hannover, and by researchers from the University of Technology Braunschweig, the Leibniz University Hannover as well as the Carl von Ossietzky University Oldenburg. Application-driven solar research is characterised by intensive cooperation with industry. Central problems of solar energy research concern not only the further development of components for cost-efficient supply of renewable energy, but also the integration of solar energy into our energy system to ensure secure supply.

Research infrastructure

The university locations provide scientists in this line of research with comprehensive research infrastructure.

More on the research infrastructure

Photo: © ISFH

Research Scientists

Prof. Dr. Carsten Agert

Institute of Physics, DLR-Institute of Networked Energy Systems, Oldenburg

Prof. Dr. Katharina Al-Shamery

Chemistry Department, Oldenburg

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Rolf Brendel

Institute of Solid State Physics (FKP), Hannover, Institute for Solar Energy Research (ISFH), Hamelin

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Bernd Engel

elenia Institute for High Voltage Technology and Power Systems, Braunschweig

Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Lutz Hofmann

Institute of Electric Power Systems (IfES), Hannover

Prof. Dr. Christoph Lienau

Institute of Physics, Oldenburg

Prof. Dr. sc. nat. H. Jörg Osten

Institute of Electronic Materials and Devices (MBE), Hannover

Prof. Dr. Robby Peibst

Institute of Electronic Materials and Devices (MBE), Hannover, Institute for Solar Energy Research (ISFH), Hamelin

Prof. Dr. Sascha Schäfer

Institut für Physik, Oldenburg

Prof. Dr. Jan Schmidt

Institute of Solid State Physics (FKP), Hannover, Institute for Solar Energy Research (ISFH), Hamelin

Prof. Dr. Gunther Seckmeyer

Institute of Meteorology and Climatology (IMUK), Hannover