The EFZN is managed by a Board of Directors which consists of one member from each of the contractual partners. The board members and their representatives are seconded by their management bodies for a period of office of two years.

The Board of Directors bears the responsibility for the tasks of the EFZN and develops concepts for a collaborative research strategy of the members. It is responsible for all matters that are not allocated to another organ through a framework agreement or an ordinance based on such agreements.


The Board of Directors consists of the following members:

Spokesperson of the Board of Directors

Photo: DLR





Prof. Dr. Carsten Agert

Carl von Ossietzky University Oldenburg

Telephone: +49 441 99906 100


Deputy-Spokesperson of the Board of Directors

Photo: Privat





Prof. Dr. Michael H. Breitner

Leibniz University Hannover

Telephone: +49 511 762 4901

Other members of the Board of Directors

Photo: Privat





Prof. Dr.-Ing. Michael Kurrat

University of Technology Braunschweig

Telephone: +49 531 391 7735

Photo: EFZN





Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Schade

Clausthal University of Technology

Telephone: +49 5321 3816 8410


Photo: Privat





Prof. Dr. Ludwig Theuvsen

Georg August University Göttingen

Telephone: +49 551 39 4851